Atlanta Film Critics Circle

Find out more about Atlanta's only dedicated film critic group.

Co-founded by longtime Atlanta film critics Michael Clark and Felicia Feaster, the Atlanta Film Critics Circle is an attempt to fill a void in the local film community and in the representation of Atlanta’s media on the national stage. “With so much film production happening in Atlanta, the city has gained incredible prominence within the film industry” says Feaster. “We’d like to see our critical community, many of whom have been longtime voices in the media, receive their due recognition as well, and promote film art at every level.”

Georgia is number 1 in feature film production over any other market according to FilmL.A. Inc and an influential creative hub.

“We’d like to do our part to raise the profile of film in general and film criticism in particular in the city and nationally,” says Feaster.

Composed of a dynamic mix of Atlanta-based critics working in newspaper, magazine and online journalism, the newly launched Atlanta Film Critics Circle solidifies Atlanta’s status as a Top 10 film market with a robust media presence and a booming film production industry.

The AFCC mission is to establish a national presence for a film critics group in Atlanta and to do our part to foster a vibrant film culture in Atlanta, already home to an exploding film industry production presence.

Founding members (critics living in and/or currently writing for global, national, regional and/or Atlanta metro area outlets) of AFCC will vote in early December for the group’s annual awards including best picture, best animated feature, best documentary feature, best director, the four solo acting categories, best ensemble cast, best screenplay and best cinematography. The AFCC also awards an annual AFCC Special Award for Best Breakthrough Performer and Best First Feature Film. Voting on new member inclusion and new voting categories will occur in April of each calendar year.

Founding members (in alphabetical order): Christopher Campbell (, Michael Clark (Newsmax Media,, Jake Cole (, Jason Evans* (Flixchat, CNN, WCNN Radio), Jim Farmer (Out on Film), Felicia Feaster (Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Atlanta magazine, HGTV, Travel Channel), Matt Goldberg (, Jonathan Hickman (Newnan Times-Herald), Jay Ledbetter (, Will Leitch* (New York Magazine, Paste Magazine, The New Republic), Hannah Lodge* (,, Emma Loggins (FanBolt), Astrid Martinez (CBS46), Michael McKinney* ( and CW Atlanta), Kip Mooney (College Movie Review, Central Track, Fresh Fiction), Steve Murray (ArtsATL), Spencer Perry (, Scott Phillips (,, Kyle Pinion* (,, Eleanor Ringel-Cater (The Atlanta Business Chronicle), Matt Rodriguez (, Josh Sewell* (Times-Georgian, Douglas County Sentinel), Jim Vorel (Paste Magazine), Steve Warren (InSite), Drew Wheeler (Athens Flagpole).

*Members of AFCC’s Advisory Board